Page 1 of 1

Memory leak?

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:08 am
by Eco
Hello GdPicture-Team,

we are evaluating your barcode recognition functionality at the moment (GdPicture.NET 6.7.0.0) and recognized a problem concerning the memory usage. Here is the example code:

Code: Select all

        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();

            gdImaging = new GdPicture.GdPictureImaging();
            gdImaging.SetLicenseNumber("XXXX"); // Please, replace XXXX by a valid demo or commercial license key. 
            gdImaging.SetLicenseNumber1DBarcodeRecognition("XXXX"); // Please, replace XXXX by a valid demo or commercial license key. 
        }

        private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            int iImage;
            int iCount;
            int iVar;
            int iBarcodeCount;

            iImage = gdImaging.TiffCreateMultiPageFromFile(@"d:\work\test.tif");

            iCount = gdImaging.TiffGetPageCount(iImage);
            iBarcodeCount = 0;

            for (iVar = 1; iVar <= iCount; iVar++)
            {
                gdImaging.TiffSelectPage(iImage, iVar);

                gdImaging.Barcode1DReaderDoScan(iImage, GdPicture.Barcode1DReaderScanMode.BestQuality);

                iBarcodeCount += gdImaging.Barcode1DReaderGetBarcodeCount();

                gdImaging.Barcode1DReaderClear();
                
                label1.Text = iVar.ToString();
                label1.Refresh();
            }

            gdImaging.TiffCloseMultiPageFile(iImage);

            gdImaging.ReleaseGdPictureImage(iImage);

            MessageBox.Show(iBarcodeCount.ToString());
        }
The code cycles through all pages of a tif-file and searchs for barcodes. Afterwards the total count of barcodes is shown in a message box. We need a similar functionality in our application.
Now when the barcode recognition is executed for a few times, the memory usage of the process is continuously growing until the application crashes. This is not the case, if i comment out the barcode recognition method calls.

Are there any release- or disposal-method-calls missing or is this a bug?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best Regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:47 am
by Loïc
Hi Eco,

Could you attach the image you are using for the test ?

If it is confidential maybe you can send it through our private support platform here: http://support.gdpicture.com

Kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:13 pm
by Eco
I've sent you the tif file as ticket #3269.

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:11 am
by Eco
Hello Loic,

are there any news regarding this issue?

Thank you.

Regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:19 am
by Loïc
Hi,

We got no progress on this issue.
I will let you know when the problem will be fixed.

Kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:17 pm
by Eco
Hello Loic,

can you say when this issue will be worked on/solved approximately?

Thank you!

Best regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:01 pm
by Eco
Hello again,

i know, we have not purchased the product yet, but can you please give a little response even tough? :wink:

Thank you!

Best Regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:17 am
by Loïc
Hi Eco,

Sorry for the delay. We don't mind if issues came from customers or users testing our SDK on the forum - no worry.

For your problem we are always unable to get it fixed. I have no doubt that we will be able to fix it but I don't know when. We need a lot of time for this issue.

Sorry for the inconvenient.

Kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:22 pm
by Eco
Hi Loic,

ok, i can comprehend this, but we are in need of a barcode recognition library for our application and slowly but steady we are getting to a point where we must decide which product to take. Your product is our favorite, primary because of the great recognition speed. Would be a pity if it will drop out because of the memory leak.

Perhaps you can say if a solution will be available in the next few weeks or if it will take months to fix the problem, so we can plan with it.

Thank you for your support.

Best Regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 5:27 pm
by Loïc
Hi Eco,

The deadline I gave to our team to fix this issue is September 2010... Maybe it will be fixed in a week, maybe in 2 months...
This bug is very frustrating for us.. Just know that it is our only known issue with the engine & seems to occurs on very special cases such your ones.

Of course I will update this topic when it will be fixed. I can't tell anything more...

Kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:48 pm
by Loïc
Hi,

The bug have been fixed. We will include fix in next release.

kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:24 pm
by Eco
Hello Loic,

thats good news, thanks for the info!

Best Regards,
Eco

Re: Memory leak?

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:28 pm
by Loïc
Hi Eco,

And the new release is available for download ;)