Error running barcode scan

Discussions about 1D barcode reading and writing
Post Reply
JNewhouse
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:37 pm

Error running barcode scan

Post by JNewhouse » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:18 am

Hi Loic,

I'm evaluating the 1d Barcode reader plug in. on most workstations it works great, however on one workstation i'm getting an error stating
"OLE IDispatch exception code 0 from GdPicturePro5: Overflow..."

I'm using the latest GDPicture Pro ActiveX control v5.12.0.3

The code i'm running is very simple to just test out the functionality:

Code: Select all

  oimg = CREATEOBJECT("gdPicturePro5.imaging")
  oimg.SetLicenseNumber("NNNN")
  oimg.SetLicenseNumber1DBarcodeRecognition("NNNN")  

  oVwr = CREATEOBJECT("gdPicturePro5.GdViewer")
  oVwr.SetLicenseNumber("NNNN")
  
  oVwr.PdfDPIRendering   = 250
  oVwr.LockControl       = .T.  
  oVwr.PDFEnablePageCash = .F.
  
  lcImageFile = "C:\temp\test.pdf"

  oVwr.DisplayFromPdfFile(lcImageFile)
  oVwr.DisplayFrame(i)
  lnImageId  = oVwr.GetNativeImage
 
  lnImageId2 = oImg.CreateClonedImageArea(m.lnImageId, 30, 30, 800, 1000)
  oImg.SetNativeImage(lnImageId2)
  oImg.Barcode1DReaderDoScan(0)        
  oImg.Barcode1DReaderGetBarcodeCount()    
The error occurs at the DoScan method, every time at the same point.

This particular workstation has been running my application which uses the gdpicture control for over a year without a problem. I've tried multiple pdf files and get the same result every time. the same pdf files work on every other workstation.

I know this is a tough one and i'm not giving you a lot to go on, but any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated as i'd really like to start using the barcode reader.

Thanks,

Jean Claude

User avatar
Loïc
Site Admin
Posts: 5601
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Error running barcode scan

Post by Loïc » Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:18 pm

Hi Jean Clause,

Unfortunately I was unable to reproduce your error.

if you are able to produce me a basic application reproducing it and give me the PDF your are using as input I will be happy to assist. You can send us such materials at esupport (at) gdpicture (dot) com.

With best regards,

Loïc

JNewhouse
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:37 pm

Re: Error running barcode scan

Post by JNewhouse » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:00 am

Hi Loic,

Thanks for the response, unfortunately, i can only duplicate it on the one workstation. I know there's not much you can do with the information i gave you, i was just hoping you might have some insight as to what might possibly cause that error. maybe there's code in that method where an overflow error might occur that would tell me what to look for? maybe a specific dll?

i don't know, like i said, i was just looking for clues.

thanks as always for your help!

jean-claude

User avatar
Loïc
Site Admin
Posts: 5601
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Error running barcode scan

Post by Loïc » Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:17 pm

Hi Jean Claude,


Unfortunately at this state I can't bring any help with information provided.
I need to have a description of your server & simple application to reproduce crash.

Kind regards,

Loïc

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest