GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Discussions about TWAIN & WIA scanning in GdPicture.NET using GdPictureImaging.
Post Reply
JmunsonII
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:09 pm

GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by JmunsonII » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:06 pm

Namaste!

I am trying to move my dev environment from a previous XP Pro setup to a Win7 64-bit environment. I'm using VS 2008.

When I move my my project over (after having installed the GDTwain files), my project shows, in the references, GDTwain 2 - TWAIN ActiveX (Safe)...<the system cannot find the reference specified>

I tried copying the objsafe.tlb to the System32 directory, however, that did not resolve the issue.

My project targets 32-bit systems.

In a 64-bit environment, what is the proper way to add the GDTwain 2 Active X control?

Thanks!

Peace, Love, and Light!!!

JmunsonII
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:09 pm

Re: GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by JmunsonII » Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:44 pm

Also, removing and re-adding the reference did not solve the issue.

User avatar
Loïc
Site Admin
Posts: 5664
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by Loïc » Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:36 pm

Hi,

You should not use the safe edition for winforms application. The safe edition is provided for web apps development purpose.

For your issue check:

- You correctly registred the ActiveX
- Your application is targeted for 32 bit processor
- Remove bin & obj folder of your project.

Then, adding a reference to the registered GdTwain toolkit should be OK.

With best regards,

Loïc

JmunsonII
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:09 pm

Re: GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by JmunsonII » Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:57 pm

Namaste!

Thank you for your answer.

What is the non-safe equivalent of AxGdTwain2S.AxTwain?

Thanks!

Peace, Love, and Light!!!

User avatar
Loïc
Site Admin
Posts: 5664
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by Loïc » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:00 pm

Hi,

You should have 2 OCX:

Gdtwain2.ocx & Gdtwain2S.ocx

So the equivalent is gdtwain2.ocx which should be wrapped by a file such as: AxGdTwain2.AxTwain?

Let me know if I am not clear enough.

Please, Love & Light too :)

Loïc

JmunsonII
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:09 pm

Re: GDTwain2s & 64-Bit Win 7 & VS2008

Post by JmunsonII » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:05 pm

Never mind, I got that taken care of...

Thanks again!

Peace, Love, and Light!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest